When a Pop! doesn’t exist, you may just have to make it yourself.

Not to get ahead of myself but I’ve become ambitious to attempt to make my own Funko Pops! Another thing I wouldn’t have thought was something I’d do. When browsing Instagram, there were a number of people that not only collect Pops! but are commissioned to make some really amazing customs. Some even are able to create custom boxes. Now I’m not at that point to start offering my services out to those in need, but I’m up for trying to make some for myself.

DIY Funko Customs

IMG_1998

When looking at the Star Trek: The Next Generation line, I thought to myself “Why isn’t there a Doctor Crusher?” Last time I checked she was a main character on the show. I mean I would understand why there was no Wesley, but what about Beverly? ADD THAT TO MY LIST.

My first custom attempt will be creating a CAPTAIN JANEWAY. I discovered rather than buy a blank figure, to use existing Pops! to customize and paint. So my very first attempt will be to take the head off DANA SCULLY (sorry Scully) and RACHEL GREEN’s body to make my JANEWAY.

Sacrifices must be made for Custom Pops! (Sorry Rachel)

FullSizeRender 6

Know your resources!

Rather than spend $100+ to get someone to do it for me, why not try and spend the same amount to make my own. It’s not about the destination but the journey. So let’s search the internet for resources. Here’s some resources I found online that are super helpful:

These two below are great because you get to watch a custom Pop done from start to finish.

Here’s my workstation…it’s so fancy!

IMG_2345

My progress thus far:

FullSizeRender 7

Let’s see how this goes. I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. Please any feedback or comments leave them below! Thanks

Stay geeky.

2 thoughts on “When a Pop! doesn’t exist, you may just have to make it yourself.”

Leave a Reply

